June 13, 2019

The June 17 deadline is fast-approaching for applications and nominations for Honors, Research, and Government Affairs awards. Finish your applications this weekend and get them in by Monday at 5 pm Eastern Time.  Read below and find more information on MyAATA for opportunities in each category.


Take this opportunity to applaud your colleagues’ outstanding achievements in education, with clients, and contributions towards the art therapy profession as a whole!

The Honors Working Group is accepting 2019 nominations for the awards listed below. Find more information and application packets for the following awards on MyAATA:

  • Honorary Life Member (HLM)  
  • Distinguished Clinician Award
  • Distinguished Educator Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Jim Consoli Video/Film Award
  • Rudolph Arnheim Award


Meet some of the 2018 Honors award recipients (From left): Honorary Lifetime Member, Cheryl Doby-Copeland, PhD, ATR-BC, LPC, LMFT; Distinguished Service Award, Michael A. Franklin, PhD, ATR-BC; Jim Consoli Video/Film Award, Bruce L. Moon, PhD, ATR-BC, HLM.



Growing the profession by rewarding excellence and supporting emerging and accomplished art therapy researchers as they elevate the profession.

The Research Committee is accepting applications for the 2019 Research Awards listed below. Find more information and application packets for the following awards on MyAATA:

  • American Art Therapy Association Research Award
  • Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research
  • Rawley Silver Research Award



Meet some of the 2018 award recipients (from left): Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research, Leah M. Mendez, MA, LPC, ATR-P; Rawley Silver Research Award, Jordan S. Potash, PhD, ATR-BC, REAT, LPCAT (MD), LCAT (NY) and Jennifer DeLucia, DAT, ATR-BC, LCAT.

Nancy Schoebel Distinguished Legislative Service Award

Elevating the profession through legislation.

Nancy Schoebel was an inspiring art therapist and a vigorous supporter of art therapy at the local, state, and national levels.  This award is designed to recognize AATA members’ ongoing efforts to elevate the art therapy profession.  We know that any legislative success is thanks to the hard work and perseverance of volunteers on the ground.  Now is your chance to recognize those colleagues who are making a difference in your community by nominating them for this prestigious award!   Please read more about Nancy, and find the application to nominate your colleague on MyAATA.


Jennifer August, MCAT, ATR-BC, LPAT, recipient of the 2018 Nancy Schoebel Distinguished Legislative Service Award with AATA Board President Christianne Strang, PhD, ATR-BC, CEDCAT-S. Read more about August’s work to establish licensure for art therapists in Delaware.


Join the art therapy community in celebrating the achievements of colleagues, supporting growth and research in the profession, and volunteering as leaders.  Read more about those who were awarded last year during the 2018 Annual Conference Awards Ceremony, and find information about the 2019 season for awards and nominations on MyAATA.

Don’t miss An Evening with Rising Stars and Legacy Members, on Thursday, October 31 at this year’s 50th annual conference. Join the AATA community in celebrating the 2019 achievements and service of colleagues, research in the profession, and scholarship award recipients with this special evening. This ceremony is part of an entire night of glitz and glam in celebration of AATA’s golden anniversary and honoring the Association’s past, present, and future. This will truly be a special evening!