ART THERAPY UNDERGRADUATE AND DOCTORAL PROGRAMS

Completion of a master’s degree is required for entry level practice in art therapy.

.

Please note that only Master’s level programs are reviewed for approval by The Education Program Approval Board (EPAB). At this time, undergraduate and doctoral programs do not undergo a formal approval process by EPAB, and the listing of educational programs on this page is not indicative of an endorsement by the AATA.

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS

Florida
University of Tampa
Scarfone Hartley Gallery, 310 North Blvd., Tampa, FL 33606
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Jack King or Joseph Scarce, MA-AT, MFT, ATR-BC
Phone:
813-257-3368 or 813-248-7549
Email:
Jking@ut.edu or Jscarce@ut.edu
Maryland
Notre Dame of Maryland University
4701 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21210
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Cathy Goucher, ATR-BC, LCPC, LCPAT, Art Therapy Program Director
Phone:
410-532-5382
Email:
cgoucher@ndm.edu
Massachusetts
Anna Maria College
50 Sunset Lane, Paxton, MA 01612
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
David Wackell, Administrative Assistant
Phone:
508-849-3450
Email:
dwackell@annamaria.edu
New York
Long Island University, Post Campus
720 Northern Blvd., Brookville, NY 11548-1300
Program:
BS in Art Therapy
Contact:
Dr. Seung Yeon Lee, EdD, ATR-BC, LCAT, Acting Program Director
Phone: 516-299-2604
Email:
Post-ArtTherapy@liu.edu

St. Thomas Aquinas College
125 Route 340, Sparkill, NY 10976-1050
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Carol Greiff Lagstein, LACSW, LCAT, ATR-BC, Director of Art Therapy
Phone: 845-398-4166
Email: clagstei@stac.edu

North Carolina
Mars Hill University
100 Athletic Street, Mars Hill, NC 28754
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Kelly Moore Spencer, PhD, ATR-BC, LPCS, Program Coordinator/Assistant Professor
Phone:
828-689-1334
Email:
kspencer@mhu.edu
Ohio
Capital University
1 College and Main, Columbus, OH 43209
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Michaele Barsnack, ATR-BC, PCC-S, LICDC-CS, Program Coordinator
Phone: 614-236-6328
Email: mbarsnac@capital.edu

Ursuline College
2550 Lander Road, Pepper Pike, OH 44124
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Jennifer Schwartz Mrazek, MAAT, ATR-BC, Department Chair
Phone: 216-484-7030
Email: Jennifer.schwartz@ursuline.edu

Pennsylvania

Cedar Crest College
100 College Ave., Allentown, PA 18104-6196
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Michelle L. Dean, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, CGP, Director of the Graduate and Undergraduate Art Therapy Programs
Phone:
610-606-4666 ext. 3505
Email:
michelle.dean@cedarcrest.edu

Mercyhurst University
501 East 38th St., Erie, PA 16546
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Heather Denning, MA, ATR-BC, ATCS, LSW
Phone:
814-824-2212, Director of Art Therapy
Email:
hdenning@mercyhurst.edu

Seton Hill University
One Seton Hill Drive, Greensburg, PA 15601
Program:
Art Therapy Major (BA)
Contact:
Patti Ghubril, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, Program Coordinator
Email:
Ghubril@setonhill.edu

Temple University, Tyler School of Art
2001 N. 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Dr. Lisa Kay, ATR-BC, Program Director
Phone:
215-777-9090
Email:
tylerart@temple.edu

The University of the Arts
320 S. Broad St., Philadelpia, PA 19102
Program:
BFA with Minor in Art Therapy
Contact:
Michelle L. Dean, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, CGP, Director of Art Therapy Minor Program
Phone:
215-717-6236
Email: 
mdean@uarts.edu

South Carolina
Converse College
580 East Main St., Spartanburg, SC 29302
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Geri Hurlbut, MA, ATR-BC, Art Therapy Program Coordinator/Associate Professor
Phone:
864-596-9314
Email:
geri.hurlbut@converse.edu
Wisconsin
Edgewood College
1000 Edgewood College Drive Madison, WI 53711
Program: Art Therapy Major (BA or BS)
Contact: Molly Tomony, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, Visiting Professor & Undergraduate Art Therapy Program Coordinator
Phone: 608-663-6711
Email: mtomony@edgewood.edu

Mount Mary University
2900 North Menomonee River Pkwy, Milwaukee, WI 53222
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Christopher Belkofer, PhD, ATR-BC, LPC
Phone: 414-930-3049 (Admissions), 414-930-3250 (Art Therapy Department)
Email: belkofec@mtmary.edu

DOCTORAL PROGRAMS

California
Notre Dame de Namur University
1500 Ralston Avenue, Belmont, CA 94002
Program:
Doctor of Philosophy in Art Therapy
Contact:
Dr. Richard Carolan, PhD, ATR-BC
Phone:
650-508-3600 (Admissions), 650-508-3556 (Art Therapy Dept.)
Email:
RCarolan@ndnu.edu
Massachusetts
Lesley University
29 Everett St., Cambridge, MA 02138
Program:
Low Residency PhD Program in Expressive Therapies
Contact:
For information about the program, visitation days and the admission process contact Jessica Rezil, Senior Admissions Counselor in the Office of Graduate Admissions.
Phone:
617-349-8265
Email: 
jrezil@lesley.edu
Pennsylvania
Drexel University
3 Parkway Building, 1601 Cherry Street, 7th Floor, Room 7103 MS 7905, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Program:
PhD Program in Creative Arts Therapies
Contact:
For information about the program, visitation days and the admission process contact Ms. Kristen Scatton, Admissions Coordinator.
Phone:
267-359-5502
Email:
kristen.scatton@drexel.edu
Wisconsin
Mount Mary University
2900 North Menomonee River Pkwy, Milwaukee, WI 53222
Program: Low residency Doctor of Art Therapy
Contact: Lynn Kapitan, PhD, ATR-BC, HLM
Phone: 414-930-3049 (Admissions),  414-930-3250 (Art Therapy Department)
Email:kapitanl@mtmary.edu
Please email changes or corrections for your listing to Kat Michel.