ART THERAPY UNDERGRADUATE AND DOCTORAL PROGRAMS

Completion of a master’s degree is required for entry level practice in art therapy.

.

Please note that only Master’s level programs are reviewed for approval by The Education Program Approval Board (EPAB). At this time, undergraduate and doctoral programs do not undergo a formal approval process by EPAB, and the listing of educational programs on this page is not indicative of an endorsement by the AATA.

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS

Florida

The University of Tampa
401 W. Kennedy Blvd., Tampa, FL 33606
Program:
BA in Art with a Concentration in Art Therapy
Contact:
Jack King, Professor of Art
Phone:
813-257-3368
Email:
jking@ut.edu

New York

Long Island University, Post Campus
720 Northern Blvd., Brookville, NY 11548-1300
Program:
BS in Art Therapy
Contact:
Dr. Seung Yeon Lee, EdD, ATR-BC, LCAT, Acting Program Director
Phone: 516-299-2604
Email:
Post-ArtTherapy@liu.edu

St. Thomas Aquinas College
125 Route 340, Sparkill, NY 10976-1050
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Carol Greiff Lagstein, LACSW, LCAT, ATR-BC, Director of Art Therapy
Phone: 845-398-4166
Email: clagstei@stac.edu

North Carolina

Mars Hill University
100 Athletic Street, Mars Hill, NC 28754
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Kelly Moore Spencer, MS, ATR-BC, LPCS, Program Coordinator/Assistant Professior
Email: kspencer@mhu.edu

Ohio

Capital University
1 College and Main, Columbus, OH 43209
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Michaele Barsnack, ATR-BC, PCC-S, LICDC-CS, Program Coordinator
Phone: 614-236-6328
Email: mbarsnac@capital.edu

Ursuline College
2550 Lander Rd., Pepper Pike, OH 44124
Program: BA in Art Therapy
Contact: Jennifer Schwartz, MAAT, ATR-BC, Department Chair
Phone: 440-484-7030
Email: jennifer.schwartz@ursuline.edu

Pennsylvania

Mercyhurst University
501 East 38th St., Erie, PA 16546
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Heather Denning, MA, ATR-BC, ATCS, LSW
Phone:
814-824-2212, Director of Art Therapy
Email:
hdenning@mercyhurst.edu

Seton Hill University
One Seton Hill Drive, Greensburg, PA 15601
Program:
Art Therapy Major (BA)
Contact:
Dana Elmendorf, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, Program Coordinator/Professor
Email:
Elmendorf@setonhill.edu

The University of the Arts
320 S. Broad St., Philadelphia, PA 19102
Program:
BFA with Minor in Art Therapy
Contact:
Michelle L. Dean, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, CGP, Director of Art Therapy Minor Program
Email:
mdean@uarts.edu

South Carolina

Converse College
580 East Main St., Spartanburg, SC 29302
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Geri Hurlbut, MA, ATR-BC, Art Therapy Program Coordinator/Associate Professor
Phone:
864-596-9314
Email:
geri.hurlbut@converse.edu

Tennessee

Lipscomb University
1 University Park Drive
Program:
BA in Art Therapy
Contact:
Mia Jaye Thomas, Administrative Assistant
Phone:
615-966-5813
Email:
mjthomas@lipscomb.edu

Wisconsin

Edgewood College
1000 Edgewood College Drive Madison, WI 53711
Program: Art Therapy Major (BA or BS)
Contact: Janice Havlena, MA, ATR-BC, Program Coordinator/Professor
Phone: 608-663-2308
Email: jhavlena@edgewood.edu

DOCTORAL PROGRAMS

California

Notre Dame de Namur University
1500 Ralston Avenue, Belmont, CA 94002
Program:
Doctor of Philosophy in Art Therapy
Contact:
Dr. Richard Carolan, PhD, ATR-BC
Phone:
650-508-3600 (Admissions), 650-508-3556 (Art Therapy Dept.)
Email:
RCarolan@ndnu.edu

Massachusetts

Lesley University
29 Everett St., Cambridge, MA 02138
Program:
Low Residency PhD Program in Expressive Therapies
Contact:
For information about the program, visitation days and the admission process contact Jessica Rezil, Senior Admissions Counselor in the Office of Graduate Admissions.
Phone:
617-349-8265
Email: 
jrezil@lesley.edu

Pennsylvania

Drexel University
3 Parkway Building, 1601 Cherry Street, 7th Floor, Room 7103 MS 7905, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Program:
PhD Program in Creative Arts Therapies
Contact:
For information about the program, visitation days and the admission process contact Ms. Kristen Scatton, Admissions Coordinator.
Phone:
267-359-5502
Email:
kristen.scatton@drexel.edu

Please email changes or corrections for your listing to Kat Michel.