April 15, 2021 | Craig Siegel, ATR-BC, ATCS, Multicultural Committee Chair

Supporting multiculturalism efforts in support of access to services for marginalized populations and supporting our mission of diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout all professional endeavors 

The Multicultural Committee is committed to helping address cultural competence and awareness within the organization, the professional membership, education of future art therapists, and the community at large. As such, the American Art Therapy Association (AATA) celebrates members who are making an impact in our profession and community. Every year we recognize members who are elevating the field, and we support the next generation of art therapists who will transform the profession. The Pearlie Roberson Award, not only offers the opportunity to recognize members for their contributions to profession and, more importantly, the communities with whom we serve, but also inspires others to carry on the mission of making a difference.

Student and professional members of the AATA are encouraged to apply for the Pearlie Roberson Annual Scholarship Award. This award honors Pearlie Roberson, an African American artist and art therapy client, and supports efforts to “explore, express, connect” to enhance the multicultural aspects of the therapeutic experience.

The award provides financial support for work undertaken by a student or professional member of AATA, which targets multicultural aspects and capacities of art therapy in the community. The award is based on the merit of the work being done to meet the aforementioned criteria, not financial need. It is specifically designed to advance the Association’s mission to advocate for the expansion of services within the community, providing art therapy to the underserved, marginalized, and/or those who have difficulties accessing help. The award may be up to $1,000.00, which may be divided between or among recipients in any given year.

The application deadline is June 15, 2021, and applicants will be notified in June 2021 about the decision of their application. The award will be presented during the formal awards ceremony which takes place at AATA’s Annual Conference.

Last year’s Pearlie Roberson awards went to Amanda Martin for her research proposal to map out access to art therapy services in Los Angeles County and identify barriers to access and to Sojung Park PhD, ATR-BC, LCAT, for her research proposal of a qualitative pilot study on the experiences of international students in South Korea in an intercultural art therapy program.  

2020 Pearlie Roberson awards recipients Amanda Martin (left) and Dr. Sojung Park (right).


The committee is excited to see the amazing work being done by our colleagues to support the spirit of this award and its namesake!