April 25, 2019


The American Art Therapy Association champions individual members who are making an impact in our profession and community.  Every year we recognize members who are elevating the field, and we support the next generation of art therapists who will transform the profession. This is your opportunity to honor colleagues and recognize the unsung heroes and visionaries of the field or take the next step in your career by applying for a scholarship or joining the Association’s leadership.  Read below and find more information on MyAATA for opportunities in the following categories (listed by application deadline):  Scholarships (May 1),  Nominations (June 3), Honors (June 17), Research (June 17), and Government Affairs(June 17).  Please reach out to info@arttherapy.org with any questions.



Helping students and art therapy’s newest professionals gain access to resources and networking opportunities as they enter their career in the field and create the future of the profession.

AATA student members enrolled in or accepted to AATA approved/CAAHEP accredited graduate programs are eligible to apply.  Applications are due May 1, 2019. Find more information and applications on MyAATA for these competitive awards:

  • American Art Therapy Association 50th Anniversary Scholarship Fund
  • Myra Levick Scholarship Fund
  • Rawley Silver Award for Excellence
  • Cay Drachnik Minorities Fund
  • Student Scholarship to the Annual Conference
  • Prasad Family Foundation – International Student Scholarship
  • Irene Rosner David Medical Art Therapy Scholarship
  • New Professional Scholarship to the Annual Conference



Pearlie Roberson Annual Scholarship Award

Supporting multiculturalism in research.

Student and professional members of the AATA are encouraged to apply for the Pearlie Roberson Annual Scholarship Award. This award honors Pearlie Roberson, an African American artist and art therapy client, and supports efforts to “explore, express, connect” in order to enhance the multicultural aspects of the therapeutic experience. Applications are due May 1, 2019. See MyAATA for more information and the application.



Show your commitment to the AATA, art therapy, and your colleagues. Help shape our future!

The AATA’s Nominating Committee invites nominations from AATA’s Professional members for Volunteer Officers and Directors of the Board to serve the following two-year elected positions (2019-2021):

  • President-Elect (1)
  • Secretary (1)
  • Board of Directors (3)
  • Nominating Committee (1)

AATA members are encouraged to submit the name of a colleague or self-nominate for these positions. Nominations must be received by June 3, 2019.


Installation of the 2019 Board of Directors



Take this opportunity to applaud your colleagues’ outstanding achievements in education, with clients, and contributions towards the art therapy profession as a whole!

The Honors Working Group has opened the 2019 Call for Honors nominations. Professional members may submit nominations for art therapists through June 17, 2019. Find more information and application packets for the following awards on MyAATA:

  • Honorary Life Member (HLM)  
  • Distinguished Clinician Award
  • Distinguished Educator Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Jim Consoli Video/Film Award
  • Rudolph Arnheim Award


Meet some of the 2018 Honors award recipients (From left): Honorary Lifetime Member, Cheryl Doby-Copeland, PhD, ATR-BC, LPC, LMFT; Distinguished Service Award, Michael A. Franklin, PhD, ATR-BC; Jim Consoli Video/Film Award, Bruce L. Moon, PhD, ATR-BC, HLM.



Growing the profession by rewarding excellence and supporting emerging and accomplished art therapy researchers as they elevate the profession.

The Research Committee is now accepting applications for the 2019 Research Awards, which are due June 17, 2019. Find more information and application packets for the following awards on MyAATA:

  • American Art Therapy Association Research Award
  • Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research
  • Rawley Silver Research Award



Meet some of the 2018 award recipients (from left): Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research, Leah M. Mendez, MA, LPC, ATR-P; Rawley Silver Research Award, Jordan S. Potash, PhD, ATR-BC, REAT, LPCAT (MD), LCAT (NY) and Jennifer DeLucia, DAT, ATR-BC, LCAT.


Nancy Schoebel Distinguished Legislative Service Award

Elevating the profession through legislation.

Nancy Schoebel was an inspiring art therapist and a vigorous supporter of art therapy at the local, state, and national levels.  This award is designed to recognize AATA members’ ongoing efforts to elevate the art therapy profession.  We know that any legislative success is thanks to the hard work and perseverance of volunteers on the ground.  Now is your chance to recognize those colleagues who are making a difference in your community by nominating them for this prestigious award!  The deadline for nominations is June 17, 2019.  Please read more about Nancy, and find the application to nominate your colleague on MyAATA.


Jennifer August, MCAT, ATR-BC, LPAT, recipient of the 2018 Nancy Schoebel Distinguished Legislative Service Award with AATA Board President Christianne Strang, PhD, ATR-BC, CEDCAT-S. Read more about August’s work to establish licensure for art therapists in Delaware.



Join the art therapy community in celebrating the achievements of colleagues, supporting growth and research in the profession, and volunteering as leaders.  Read more about those who were awarded last year during the 2018 Annual Conference Awards Ceremony, and find information about the 2019 season for scholarships, awards, nominations on MyAATA.