Thank you to everyone who participated in these elections, especially those of you who ran for a leadership position in support of our association and profession. AATA is thrilled to announce our 2022 election results, as verified by the Teller’s Working Group.

Newly Elected Members

With the passing of the bylaw changes, there is no longer a Speaker of Assembly position. The first runner up for Board of Director will serve as a Director at Large. These elected leaders will begin their terms on January 1, 2023. 

Treasurer: Marygrace Berberian, PhD, LCAT, ATR-BC, LCSW

Board of Directors

  • Kelly L. Burns, MA, LMHC, ATR-BC
  • Maria Kim, PhD, ATR-BC, LMFT
  • Rachel Mims, MS, ATR-BC, LPC-AT
  • Maru Serricchio-Joiner, PhD, LMFT, ATR-BC

Nominating Committee: Ori Cruz, MPS, LCAT


Congratulations to David Gussak, PhD, ATR-BC, who was voted 2022 Honorary Lifetime Member by the AATA membership.

Bylaw Changes Proposed by the Board

In addition, we are pleased to announce that the AATA Board’s proposed changes to the Association Bylaws passed overwhelmingly. The Board believes that these are significant steps toward a more inclusive association and profession. 93% of members who voted supported:

  • Enabling students to vote — ensuring our leadership pipeline is more inclusive and better representative of the clients and communities art therapists serve.
  • Replacing Robert’s Rules of Order with a more concise parliamentary standard, the Democratic Rules of Order
  • Transitioning the Speaker of the Assembly of Chapters (AoC) position into a standard Director-at-Large board position to create direct lines of communications and transparency
  • Moving AATA’s awards from the Bylaws into our operating policies, which will enable future AATA leaders to make changes more efficiently when needed