April 16, 2024

The American Art Therapy Association honors excellence in the art therapy profession through its annual awards, honors, and scholarships. Every year, we recognize AATA members who have made strides in research, education, and their own practices.

The 2024 Call for Applications is open, and we hope you will take a moment to honor a colleague by nominating them or consider applying yourself to support your own career. Apply today! The deadline to apply has been extended to May 28, 2024.


Research Awards

Growing the profession by rewarding excellence in research and supporting emerging and accomplished art therapy researchers. Supported by the AATA Research Committee. (Learn more.)

  • Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research
  • Rawley Silver Research Award


Supported by the Honors Working Group, AATA honors members’ outstanding achievements in education, working with clients, and representing the field. The following honors are open to AATA Professional members:

  • Distinguished Clinician Award
  • Distinguished Educator Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Jim Consoli Video/Film Award
  • Outstanding Applied Creative Practice Award
  • Rudolph Arnheim Award
  • Other Form

Learn more about AATA’s honors

Government Affairs Award

The Nancy Schoebel Distinguished Legislative Service Award recognizes the advocacy work of AATA professional members.


^ The 2023 Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Jinnie Jeon for research in art therapy interventions based on the Expressive Therapies Continuum framework with older adults with dementia.

^ Distinguished Educator Award was presented to Matthew Bernier, Associate Professor in the Art Therapy and Counseling MS program at Eastern Virginia Medical School in 2023. He is a distinguished educator with 33 years of experience mentoring more than 700 students becoming art therapists.

Multicultural Award

Students and professional members of AATA are encouraged to apply for the Pearlie Roberson Annual Scholarship Award. Created in 2000, the award honors Pearlie Roberson, an African American artist and art therapy client.

Presented by the AATA Multicultural Committee, it fullfills Ms. Roberson’s request to “remember me” and supports efforts to “explore, express, connect…” to enhance the multicultural aspects of the therapeutic experience


^ 2023 Pearlie Roberson Award presented to Chelsea Faulkner, a student at Drexel University.

^ 2023 Pearlie Roberson Award presented to Chelsea Faulkner, a student at Drexel University.


Helping students and the newest professionals gain access to resources and networking opportunities as they enter the field—and helping develop the future of the profession. AATA student members enrolled in or accepted to undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral programs are eligible to apply. (Learn more.)

  • Dr. Ellen G. Horovitz Spiritual Art Therapy Scholarship
  • Irene Rosner David Medical Art Therapy Scholarship
  • American Art Therapy Association Anniversary Scholarship Fund
  • Myra Levick Scholarship Fund
  • Laura Greenstone Memorial Scholarship
  • Rawley Silver Award for Excellence
  • Prasad Family Foundation – International Student Scholarship
  • Cay Drachnik Minorities Fund
  • Student Scholarship to the American Art Therapy Association Annual Conference
  • New Professional Scholarship

Apply Today!

Applications close on May 13, so please apply or nominate someone today! If you’d like to learn more about the 2023 Honors, Awards, and Scholarship recipients, click here

For any questions, please check out our FAQ answers or contact info@arttherapy.org.