May 24, 2021

The American Art Therapy Association celebrates individual members who are making an impact in our profession and community.  Every year we recognize members who are elevating the field, and we support the next generation of art therapists who will transform the profession. This is your opportunity to honor colleagues and recognize the unsung heroes and visionaries of the field or take the next step in your career by applying for a scholarship. Read below and find more information on MyAATA for opportunities in the following categories: Multicultural, Honors, Research, and Governmental Affairs. All applications are due on June 15, 2021.

New for 2021: We are now accepting applications for Honors, Research and Governmental Affairs Awards online through our member portal! Please reach out to with any questions.

Pearlie Roberson Annual Award

Supporting multiculturalism in research.

Student and professional members of the AATA are encouraged to apply for the Pearlie Roberson Annual Scholarship Award. This award honors Pearlie Roberson, an African American artist and art therapy client, and supports efforts to “explore, express, connect” in order to enhance the multicultural aspects of the therapeutic experience.  The application deadline was extended to June 15, 2021. See MyAATA for more information and the application.


Take this opportunity to applaud your colleagues’ outstanding achievements in education, with clients, and contributions towards the art therapy profession as a whole!

The Honors Working Group has opened the 2021 Call for Honors nominations. Professional members may submit nominations for art therapists through June 15, 2021. Find more information and apply directly for the following awards on MyAATA:

  • Honorary Life Member (HLM)  
  • Distinguished Clinician Award
  • Distinguished Educator Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Jim Consoli Video/Film Award
  • Rudolph Arnheim Award 
  • Other Award


Growing the profession by rewarding excellence and supporting emerging and accomplished art therapy researchers as they elevate the profession.

The Research Committee is now accepting applications for the 2021 Research Awards, which are due June 15, 2021. Find more information and apply directly for the following awards on MyAATA:

  • Gladys Agell Award for Excellence in Research
  • Rawley Silver Research Award
  • 2021 Seed Grants

Join the art therapy community in celebrating the achievements of colleagues and supporting growth and research in the profession.  Read more about those who were awarded last year during the 2020 Annual Conference Awards Ceremony, and find information about the 2021 season for scholarships and awards on MyAATA.

Nancy Schoebel Distinguished Legislative Service Award

Elevating the profession through legislation.

Nancy Schoebel was an inspiring art therapist and a vigorous supporter of art therapy at the local, state, and national levels.  This award is designed to recognize AATA members’ ongoing efforts to elevate the art therapy profession.  We know that any legislative success is thanks to the hard work and perseverance of volunteers on the ground.  Now is your chance to recognize those colleagues who are making a difference in your community by nominating them for this prestigious award!  The deadline for nominations is June 15, 2021.  Please read more about Nancy, and nominate your colleague directly on MyAATA.